在西班牙居住

立即申请西班牙居留权

此服务适用于已经拥有欧盟护照持有人证件的欧盟护照持有人 NIE 编号或符合西班牙居住标准。

在您拥有自己的设备之前,请不要使用此服务 NIE 证书。

需要一个 NIE 数? 点击这里阅读更多。

一旦有了 NIE 您可以申请居留的号码

现在你有了 NIE 编号您需要做的下一件事是您的欧盟居留证。

My NIE 现在提供完整的居留服务。 如果您使用我们的服务来获取您的 NIE 您现在可以申请居住号 只是 每人£49.99 + IVA。

这包括您在警察局的订票,与您申请相关的文件,以及有关您申请欧盟居留/证书所需确切证据的电话咨询。 我们还将就健康保险以及您可能需要或不需要申请居留权的其他要求提供建议。 (根据我们掌握的最新信息,警察可以随时更改此信息)

请注意,居住权由西班牙警察全权决定。 我们将预订您的约会并提供您的文书工作,但您有责任提供其他证明,例如资金证明,私人健康保险等。

我们的专业居住顾问将指导您完成整个过程,以便您及时准备就绪。

今天就与我们一起预约您的欧盟任命书/证书!

请填写以下表格,确保所有字段均已填写。 提交信息后,请使用下面的付款链接,我们的居住专家将在24小时内与您联系:

提交申请后,请点击此处通过PayPal付款。 一名工作人员将在24小时内与您联系。

获得西班牙居留权的相关信息 NIE 数

技术信息…。 我们的居住顾问将解释所有这些更简单的格式。 点击这里 有关的最新建议 英国的 居住在西班牙的国民

28年2007月240日,西班牙皇家法令(07/3)要求所有计划在西班牙逗留超过XNUMX个月的欧盟公民必须亲自到其居住省的Oficina de Extranjeros或指定警察局进行登记。站。

一旦有了 NIE 您可以在西班牙申请居留权的号码

当您注册时,将获得一张信用卡大小的居留证,上面注明您的姓名,地址,国籍, NIE 电话号码(NúmerodeIdentificaciónExtranjero)和您的居民注册日期。


在您注册为居民五年后,您可以申请西班牙永久居留证。 您将获得类似信用卡大小的居留证,但是它还会声明您是永久居民。


注意:有些人仍然拥有A4尺寸的居留证,而不是信用卡大小的证件-在这种情况下,除非您的情况(例如您的住址)发生变化,或者除非您想要。


您可以在这里预约居住或申请永久居留权。 可以在西班牙内政部的网站上找到更多详细信息(信息以西班牙语显示)。

居住规定的变更10年2012月XNUMX日,西班牙政府对所有欧盟公民(包括英国国民)引入了新的居住要求的详细信息。 根据新规定,可能要求申请在西班牙居住的欧盟公民出示足够的经济手段养活自己(和家属)的证据。 还可能要求申请人提供私人或公共医疗保险的证明。 有关工作流程和所需文件的更多详细信息,请参见西班牙工作和社会保障部的网站。

部长令规定了新的居住要求,一些文件申请人可能会被要求出示。 我们在下面创建了部长令的非正式译本。

居留要求–仅供参考
这是英国大使馆*对1490年9月2012日西班牙第XNUMX号命令的重要部分进行的非正式翻译,其中规定了其他欧盟成员国和欧洲公民国民在西班牙入境,自由流动和居住的规则经济区国家。

第一条:居留权超过三个月
国民:
欧盟成员国
《欧洲经济区协定》的其他缔约国
如果瑞士符合7年240月2007日第16/2007号皇家法令第XNUMX条所规定的条件,即有权在西班牙居住三个月以上,有关西班牙公民在西班牙的入境,自由流动和居住权。欧洲联盟成员国和《欧洲经济区协定》的其他缔约国。

第二条:外国人中央登记处的出勤和登记
第1条所述国民的居民注册申请应符合5年6月7日第240/2007号皇家法令第16条第2007和第XNUMX条的规定。

申请将亲自提交到他们打算居住的省的移民局或相关的警察局。
如果注册申请不符合处理申请的必要要求,则利害关系人将被要求在十天内纠正任何错误或附上强制性文件,如果不这样做,他将被告知。为此,可以假定他已经通过合理的决定放弃了他的申请,但该申请没有用尽行政程序,因此可以提出上诉。

一旦确认符合相应要求,便会立即颁发证书。 该证书将提供注册人的姓名,国籍和地址,其外国身份证号码和注册日期。

第3条:支持文档

所有的注册申请都必须符合nied由申请人的护照或国民身份证有效并有效。 如果这些文件已过期,则必须提供这些文件的副本和续签申请。 此外,根据申请人的情况,需要以下文件:
a)受雇工人必须出示声明,表明他们已被雇主雇用或提供就业证明。 这些文件必须至少包括公司名称和地址,税务证明和雇主的社会保险号的详细信息。 可以出示在相应的公共就业服务处注册的雇佣合同或在相应的社会保障系统注册的类似情况的注册文件或情况,但如果相关方同意让其出示这些文件,则无需出示这些文件详细信息已根据一般社会保障财务办公室文件“ Ficheros de laTesoreríaGeneral de la Seguridad Social”核对

b)自雇工人必须提供证据证明他们是自雇人士。 在经济活动清单“经济活动清单”上的注册,或通过在商业注册处“ Registro Mercantil”中注册的方式证明其成立的证明,或与相应的社会保障体系的注册类似的注册文件或情况,都可以接受。如果感兴趣的人同意将其详细信息与总社会保障财务办公室或税务局的文件“ Ficheros de laTesoreríaGeneral de la Seguridad Social o de la Agencia Tributaria”相比较,则无需出示这些文件。

c)不在西班牙工作的人必须出示证明其符合以下两个条件的文件:

一世。 在西班牙或其他国家/地区签订合同的公共或私人健康保险,但前提是要确保西班牙在其居住期间的医疗保险与国家医疗体系提供的医疗保险相当。 如果养老金领取者可以通过相应的证明证明他们有权享受领取养老金的国家所支付的医疗保健,则将被视为符合此条件。

ii。 有足够的资源供自己和家人使用,以免在其居住期间成为西班牙社会救助体系的负担。 无论是来自常规收入(包括工作收入或其他收入)还是资产所有权的拥有足够资源的证明,都将通过任何法律上可接受的证据来证明,例如财产契约,经证明的支票,证明该收入来自收到资金或信用卡。 在后一种情况下,应出示最新的银行证明,证明可通过上述卡上的信用额度使用。 对足够资源的评估必须在考虑到申请人的个人和家庭情况的情况下,单独进行。 拥有的资源超过《国家总预算法》规定的每年的资源,该法考虑到利害关系人的个人和家庭情况,证明有权获得非缴费性权利,将被视为满足此要求的充分证据

d)学生,包括正在接受职业培训课程的学生,必须出示证明具备以下条件的文件:

一世。 由主管教育行政管理部门认可或资助的公立或私立学校的入学

ii。 在西班牙或其他国家/地区签订合同的公共或私人健康保险,前提是要确保在西班牙拥有完整的保险。 但是,如果学生持有欧洲健康保险卡,且该卡的有效期涵盖整个居住期间,并且可以使他独家获得医疗方面的任何必要医疗帮助,则该条件将被视为已满足考虑到援助的性质和预计的持续时间。

iii。 宣誓声明说,他有足够的资源供自己和家人使用,以免他们在居住期间成为西班牙社会救助体系的负担。 参加旨在促进学生和教师之间的教育交流的欧盟计划将被视为充分符合这些要求的证明。
第4条:对家庭成员的居留权适用期超过三个月。

本命令也适用于2年240月2007日第16/2007号皇家法令第XNUMX条规定的家庭成员,这些成员是欧盟成员国或《欧洲经济区协定》和瑞士的另一缔约国的国民与欧洲联盟成员国或《欧洲经济区协定》和瑞士的另一缔约国国民的国民见面或陪同。

对于学生来说,他们是欧盟成员国或《欧洲经济区或瑞士协定》的另一个缔约国的国民,则无论其国籍如何,其居留权均仅适用三个月以上,按2年240月2007日皇家第16/2007号皇家法令第2条规定在公共登记册中登记的配偶或事实上的伴侣,以及dependent养子女,前提是他们符合本节d)字母中规定的条件本命令第3条第XNUMX款。
在其他情况下,居住权还将延伸至在公共登记簿中登记的配偶或实际伴侣,其直系后代以及未满21岁或残疾或未满2岁的配偶或登记伴侣的直系后代。年龄超过这个年龄并依赖于他们的人,并且如果他们不是欧洲联盟成员国的国民并且与欧洲公民的国民一起陪同,则还必须依赖于直接上升的人以及依赖他们的配偶或注册伴侣的人欧洲联盟成员国或《欧洲经济区协定》的另一个缔约国和瑞士,或在西班牙与他见面,但条件是《欧洲经济区协定》第3条a),b)或c)项规定的条件符合本命令第XNUMX条的规定。

本条第1、2和3节规定的属于欧洲联盟成员国或《欧洲经济区协定》和《瑞士协定》另一缔约国国民的家庭成员,必须在中央按照本命令的规定办理外国人登记。 本条第2条和第3条规定的非欧盟成员国或《欧洲经济国家和瑞士协定》另一缔约国国民的家庭成员必须申请居留卡根据8年240月2007日第16/2007号皇家法令第XNUMX条的规定,为联盟国民的家庭成员发行。

单一临时条款。
该命令将适用于24年2012月XNUMX日之后提出的申请。
第一项最终条款:能力标题
该部长令是根据西班牙宪法第149.1.2条的规定通过的,该条赋予该国对国籍,移民,移民,外交和庇护权的唯一管辖权。
第二最终条款:生效
该命令将于其在“国家官方公报”上发布后的第二天生效。 (10年2012月XNUMX日)

*此翻译由英国大使馆提供,旨在帮助说英语的欧盟公民了解新的居住要求。 英国大使馆对此与将来的官方翻译之间的任何错误或差异,以及因不正确而引起的任何不承担任何责任。nie因任何错误或差异而导致的损失。
非欧盟家庭成员。 还提供了非欧盟家庭成员的证件,这些成员必须凭有效护照和签证(如果需要)入境,并在进入欧盟后三个月内在Oficina de Extranjeros或指定的警察局亲自登记。 他们将获得卡达达诺联盟联盟的居民住宅印发(欧盟公民家属的居留证)。 将需要其他文件。
在padrón上注册
Padrón列出了居住在某个城镇中的所有人口。 Empadronarse是在您自己的当地市政厅注册该清单的行为。

谁应该注册?

根据西班牙法律,必须在您惯常居住的市政厅的Padrón上进行注册,但许多英国专家仍未这样做。 也许有人认为帕德隆人是国家以“大哥大”方式保持警惕的手段。 但是,实际上,这只是市政厅了解其所在地区有多少人的简单方法,而无需进行有关某人的正式居留身份或财务状况的调查。

您如何注册

您不必拥有房屋即可注册,只需有一个惯常居住的地址即可,无论您是房主,租住还是与家人或朋友住在一起。 注册也不是一个漫长的注册过程。 只需转到市政厅的Padrón办公室并填写提供的表格即可。 携带官方身份证明(例如护照)以及您的 NIE 或居留证/卡,以您的名义出具的近期水电费账单,房屋契约或租赁合同副本。 尽管您可能必须返回以领取证书,但实际注册是在同一天完成的。 巴利阿里群岛的一些市政厅为发行“ Certificado de empadronamiento”(例如,在马略卡岛的帕尔马(Palma de Mallorca)发行1.20欧元)收取少量费用。
Padrón注册的好处
一旦完成了简单的过程,您就可以开始享受padrón产品的所有优势,例如:
更好的公共服务。

中央政府根据帕德隆区的人口数量将资金分配给不同的城市。 因此,如果您没有注册,则您的市政厅正在亏损,无法提供医疗中心​​,警务人员,消防员和学校。

获得福利和社会护理
您必须待在一段时间内,才能通过市政厅的社会服务获得一些与收入相关的福利和社会护理的其他方面。

减税
根据市政厅的不同,在Padrón上进行注册可能意味着某些社区费用和遗产税的减少。 此外,在帕德隆(padrón)上的人们通常还可以享受市政厅举办的折扣课程,休闲和文化活动。

特价旅行

当前的“ Cerificado de Empadronamiento”可以使西班牙岛屿的居民在岛屿与大陆之间的机票和渡轮票上获得高达50%的折扣。

投票权

为了在地方选举中投票,您还必须在地方选举登记簿上签名。 您可以通过填写简单表格在您在Padrón上注册的同一家办公室进行此操作。 当您在padrón上注册时,一些但不是全部市政厅会询问您是否要投票。

一旦您注册了一次投票,该注册便是永久性的,您无需续签。 但是,如果您由于Padron状态检查而退出Padrón,则还需要重新注册才能投票。

如果不确定您是否已登记参加地方选举,可以在当地市政厅的帕德隆办公室问。
更轻松的生活
您会发现您需要Padrón证书才能执行各种管理任务,例如注册医疗保健,在西班牙车牌上注册汽车或为您的孩子上学。 可以在Residentes Europeos网站上找到更多信息。

Padrón状态检查
《京东方》自7年24月2015日起第XNUMX条规定,现在要求欧盟国民每两到五年确认其帕德龙身份,以便保持注册状态。

自登记之日起每五年,便会与市政厅联系持有居留证的英国国民,以确认他们仍然居住在城镇并希望继续居住在帕德隆。

自登记之日起,市政厅将每两年与没有居留证的英国国民联系,以确认他们仍然居住在城镇并希望继续居住在帕德隆。

已经有一个 nie 数字,但需要居留权

如果市政厅无法确认您仍然住在他们的城镇,您将被从padrón寄存器中删除。 您不必主动联系市政厅来确认您的注册; 您的市政厅将与您联系。
但是,如果您担心自己的Padrón身份,可以随时到当地市政厅的Padrón办公室检查您是否仍在注册,并要求确认您的Padrón身份。

对于某些服务(例如社会服务),您可能需要出示最近的Padrón证书,该证书的使用期限少于3个月。 您可以在当地的市政厅padrón办公室获得此信息。

如果您已经有西班牙语 NIE 数量和需要您的西班牙居住权今天就联系! 阅读更多关于 NIE 西班牙的数字

Residency in Spain

Apply for Residency in Spain

This service is for EU Passport Holders who already have a NIE Number only. Please do not use this service until you have your NIE Certificate.

Need a NIE Number? Click here to read more.

Once you have your NIE Number you can apply for residency

Now you have your NIE Number the next thing you need is your Residency/ Certificate of the EU. (please note this advice is pre-Brexit)

My NIE now offers a full residency service. If you used our service to obtain your NIE Number you can now apply for your residency at the discounted price of just £29.99 per person. (Normal price £69.99)

This includes your police station booking, relevant paperwork for your application and a telephone consultation on the exact evidence you will need for applying for Residency/Certificate of the EU. We will also give advice on health insurance, and other requirements you may or may not need to apply for your Residency.

(Please note we DO NOT sell Health Insurance or any other financial products)

Our expert Residency advisor will guide you through the process so you have everything ready in time.

BOOK YOUR RESIDENCY/CERTIFICATE OF THE EU APPOINTMENT WITH US TODAY!

Please complete the form below ensuring all fields are completed. Once you have submitted your information please use the payment link below and our Residency expert will be in touch within 24hrs:

Once you have submitted your Application, please click here to Pay Via PayPal. A staff member will be in touch within 24hrs.

 

Information about Residency in Spain Once you have your NIE Number

 

The Technical Information…. Our Residency advisor will explain all this is simpler format.

On the 28 March 2007 a Spanish Royal Decree (240/07) made it a requirement that all EU citizens planning to stay in Spain for more than 3 months must register in person at the Oficina de Extranjeros in their province of residence or at designated Police stations.

Once you have your NIE Number you can apply for residency in Spain

When you register, you will be issued with a credit card size Residence Certificate stating your name, address, nationality, NIE number (Número de Identificación Extranjero) and your date of registration as a resident.


After you have been registered as a resident for five years, you can apply for a certificate of permanent residence in Spain. You will be issued with a similar credit card size Residence Certificate, but it will additionally state that you are a permanent resident (residente permanente).


Note: Some people still have an A4 size Residence Certificate rather than the credit card sized one – in these cases there is no requirement to re-apply for a credit card size one unless your circumstances (for example your address) change, or unless you want to.


You can make an appointment to apply for residency, or to move onto permanent residency here. More details can be found on the website for the Spanish Ministry of the Interior (information is in Spanish).out residency in Spain

Changes to the residency regulations On 10 July 2012 the Spanish government introduced details of the new residency requirements for all EU citizens, including British nationals.  Under the new rules, EU citizens applying for residency in Spain may be required to produce evidence of sufficient financial means to support themselves (and dependants). Applicants may also be asked for proof of private or public healthcare insurance. More details about the application process and documentation you need are available on the website of the Spanish Ministry for Work and Social Security.

The Ministerial Order sets out the new residency requirements and some of the documentation applicants may be asked to present. We have created an unofficial translation of the Ministerial Order below.

Residency requirements – for information only
This is an unofficial translation by the British Embassy* of the important parts of Spanish Order 1490 of 9 July 2012, setting out the rules on the entry, free movement and residence in Spain of nationals of other European Union (EU) Member States and European Economic Area states.

Article 1: Right of residence for a period of longer than three months
Nationals of:
a member state of the European Union
other States party to the Agreement on the European Economic Area
Switzerland  have a right to reside in Spain for a period of longer than three months if they meet the conditions laid down in Article 7 of Royal Decree 240/2007, of 16 February 2007, on entrance, free movement and residence in Spain of Nationals of European Union member states and of other states party to the Agreement on the European Economic Area.

Article 2: Attendance and registration on the Central Register of Foreign Nationals
Applications for registration as residents by the nationals mentioned in Article 1 shall comply with the provisions of sections 5 and 6 of Article 7 of Royal Decree 240/2007, of 16 February 2007.

Applications will be filed in person in the Immigration Office of the province where they intend to reside or in the relevant Police Station.
If the application for registration does not meet the necessary requirements for it to be processed, the interested person will be required to correct any faults or attach the obligatory documents within a period of ten days and he will be informed that, if he does not do this, it will be assumed that he has abandoned his application, by reasoned decision, which does not exhaust the administrative procedure and which may be appealed against.

The certificate will be issued immediately, once compliance with the corresponding requirements has been confirmed. This certificate will give the name, nationality and address of the registered person, his foreign national identity number and the date of registration.

Article 3: Supporting documentation

All applications for registration must be accompanied by the applicant’s passport or national identity document, which shall be valid and in force. If these documents have expired, a copy of these and the application for renewal must be produced. In addition, the following documentation will be required, depending on the applicant’s circumstances:
a) Employed workers must produce a declaration to the effect that they have been hired by the employer or a certificate of employment. These documents must include, as a minimum, details of the name and address of the company, tax identification and Employer’s Social Security Number. Presentation of an employment contract registered with the corresponding Public Employment Service or a document of registration or situation similar to registration with the corresponding Social Security System will be accepted, although it will not be necessary to produce these documents if the interested party agrees to have his details checked against the General Social Security Finance Office files “Ficheros de la Tesorería General de la Seguridad Social”

b) Self-employed workers must produce evidence to the effect that they are self-employed. Registration on the Economic Activities List “Censo de Actividades Económicos” or proof of their establishment by means of registration in the Mercantile Registry “Registro Mercantil” or a document of registration or situation similar to registration with the corresponding Social Security System will be accepted, although it will not be necessary to produce these documents if the interested person agrees to have his details checked against the General Social Security Finance Office or Taxation Office files “Ficheros de la Tesorería General de la Seguridad Social o de la Agencia Tributaria”

c) People who do not work in Spain must produce documentation proving that they comply with the following two conditions:

i. Public or private health insurance contracted in Spain or in another country, provided that it ensures cover in Spain during their period of residence equivalent to the cover provided by the National Health System. Pensioners will be considered to meet this condition if they can prove, by means of the corresponding certificate, that they are entitled to health care paid for by the State from which they receive their pension

ii. have sufficient resources, for themselves and their family members, not to become a burden on Spain’s social assistance system during their period of residence. Proof of the possession of sufficient resources, whether from regular income, including work income or income of another kind, or from ownership of assets, will be given by any legally admissible evidence, such as property deeds, certified cheques, documentation proving that income from capital is received or credit cards. In this latter case, an up to date bank certificate proving the amount available by way of credit on the aforesaid card shall be produced. The assessment of sufficient resources must be carried out on an individual basis, taking into account the applicant’s personal and family circumstances. The possession of resources that are more than the amount established each year by the State General Budgets Act “Ley de Presupuestos Generales de Estado” that justifies the right to receive non-contributory benefits, taking into account the interested persons’ personal and family circumstances, will be regarded as sufficient proof to meet this requirement

d) Students, including those who are taking vocational training courses, must present documents proving fulfillment with the following conditions:

i. Enrolment in a public or private establishment, accredited or financed by the competent educational administration

ii. Public or private health insurance contracted in Spain or in another country, provided that it ensures complete cover in Spain. However, this condition will be deemed to be met if the student has a European Health Insurance Card that is valid for a period that covers the entire period of residence and that allows him to receive, exclusively, any medical assistance that are necessary from a medical point of view, taking into account the nature of the assistance and the envisaged duration.

iii. Sworn Statement that he has sufficient resources for himself and his family members, so that they do not become a burden on Spain’s social assistance system during their period of residence. Participation in European Union programmes that promote educational exchanges for students and teachers will be regarded as sufficient proof of compliance with these requirements.
Article 4: Application of the right to reside for a period of longer than three months to family members.

This Order will also apply to family members, as set out in Article 2 of Royal Decree 240/2007 of 16 February 2007, who are nationals of an EU Member State or of another State party to the Agreement on the European Economic Area and of Switzerland, who meet or accompany a national of a Member State of the European Union or of another State party to the Agreement on the European Economic Area and of Switzerland.

In the case of students, who are nationals of an EU Member State or of another State party to the Agreement on the European Economic Area or Switzerland, the right of residence for a period of longer than three months will only apply, regardless of their nationality, to their spouse or de facto partner registered in a public register in the terms established in Article 2 of Royal Decree 240/2007, of 16 February 2007, and dependent children, provided that they meet the conditions laid down in letter d) of section 2 of Article 3 of this Order.
In other cases, the right of residence will also be extended to the spouse or de facto partner registered in a public register, to their direct descendants and to those of their spouse or registered partner, who are less than 21 years of age or disabled or who are older than this age and dependent on them and also to the direct ascendant and to those of the spouse or registered partner who are dependent on them, when they are not nationals of a Member State of the European Union and accompany the national of a Member State of the European Union or of another State party to the Agreement on the European Economic Area and of Switzerland or meet him in the Spanish State, provided that the conditions laid down in letters a), b) or c) of section 2 of Article 3 of this Order are met.

Family members who are nationals of a Member State of the European Union or of another State party to the Agreement on the European Economic Area and of Switzerland, set out in sections 1, 2 and 3 of this Article, must apply for registration in the Central Register of Foreign Nationals in accordance with the provisions of this Order. Family members who are not nationals of a Member State of the European Union or of another State party to the Agreement on the European Economic State and of Switzerland, set out in Articles 2 and 3 of this Article, must apply for a residence card to be issued for a family member of a Union national, in accordance with the provisions of Article 8 of Royal Decree 240/2007, of 16 February 2007.

Single Interim Provision.
This Order will apply to applications presented after 24 April 2012.
First Final Provision: Competency Title
This Ministerial Order is passed under the provisions of Article 149.1.2 of the Spanish Constitution, which gives the State sole jurisdiction in matters of nationality, immigration, emigration, foreign affairs and right of asylum.
Second Final Provision: Entry into force
This Order will come into force on the day after its publication in the “State Official Bulletin”. (10 July 2012)

*This translation is provided by the British Embassy with the intention of assisting English-speaking EU citizens to understand the new residency requirements. The British Embassy can take no responsibility for any errors or differences between this and any future official translation, nor for any inconvenience or expense caused by any error or difference.
Non-EU family members. There is also provision for non-EU family members, who have entered on valid passports and visas (where required), to reside with EU citizens, providing they too register in person at the Oficina de Extranjeros or designated police stations within 3 months of entry. They will be issued with Tarjetas de Residencia de Familiar de Cuidadano de la Union (Residency cards for family members of EU citizens). Additional documents will be required.
Registering on the padrón
The padrón is a list of all the people who live in a certain town. Empadronarse is the act of registering yourself on this list with your local town hall.

Who should register?

It is obligatory by Spanish law to register on the padrón at the Town Hall where you habitually reside, yet many British ex-pats still have not done so. Perhaps some view the padrón as a means of vigilance by the state, in ‘big-brother’ fashion. However, in reality, it is simply a way for the town hall to know how many people live in their area, without entering into investigations as to a person’s official residence status or financial affairs.

How you register

You don’t have to own your house to register, just have an address where you habitually live, no matter whether you are the owner, you rent, or live with family or friends. Nor is registration a long drawn out registration process. Simply go to the padrón office of your town hall and fill in the form they provide. Take along official identification, such as a passport, and also your NIE or residence certificate/card, a recent utility bill in your name, and the deeds to your house or a copy of your rental contract. Although you may have to return to collect your certificate, the actual registration is completed all on the same day. Some town halls in the Balearic Islands make a small charge for issuing a ´Certificado de empadronamiento’ (eg 1.20 euros in Palma de Mallorca).
Benefits of padrón registration
Once you’ve completed the simple process, you can begin to enjoy all the advantages being on the padrón offers, such as:
Better public services.

Central government allocates money to the different municipalities according to how many people are on the padrón. Therefore, if you are not registered, your town hall is losing money for the provision of health centres, police officers, fire fighters and schools.

Access to benefits and social care
You must be on the padrón for a certain period of time in order to access some income-related benefits and other aspects of social care available through social services at your town hall.

A reduction in taxes
Depending on the town hall, registration on the padrón could mean reductions in certain community charges and inheritance tax. Furthermore, those on the padrón can also often enjoy discounted courses, leisure and cultural activities run by the town hall.

Discounted travel

A current ‘Cerificado de Empadronamiento’ can allow residents of Spanish islands to receive discounts of up to 50% on air fares and ferry tickets between the islands and the mainland.

Voting rights

In order to vote in local elections, you must also sign onto the local election register. You can do this at the same office where you register on the padrón by completing a simple form. Some, but not all, town halls will ask you if you want to register to vote when you register on the padrón.

Once you have registered to vote once, the registration is permanent and you do not have to renew it. However, if you have fallen off the padrón due to a padron status check, you will also need to re-register to vote.

If you are not sure whether or not you are registered to vote in local elections, you can ask at the padrón office at your local town hall.
An easier life
You’ll find you need your padrón certificate to carry out various administrative tasks, such as register for healthcare, register your car with Spanish number plates or enrol your children in school.  More information can be found on Residentes Europeos website.

Padrón status checks
Article 7 of the BOE from 24th de March 2015 states that EU nationals are now required to confirm their padrón status every two or five years in order to remain registered.

British nationals who have a Certificate of Residence will be contacted by their town hall every five years from the date they register to confirm that they still live in the town and wish to remain on the padrón.

British nationals who don’t have a Certificate of Residence will be contacted by their town hall every two years from the date they register to confirm that they still live in the town and wish to remain on the padrón.

Already have a nie number but need residency

If the town hall is unable to confirm that you still live in their town, you will be removed from the padrón register. You don’t have to proactively contact your town hall to confirm your registration; your town hall will contact you.
However, if you are concerned about your padrón status, you can go to the padrón office at your local town hall at any time to check that you are still registered and ask to confirm your padrón status.

For certain services (eg social services) you may be required to show a recent padrón certificate which is less than 3 months old. You can obtain this at your local town hall padrón office.

 

If you already have your Spanish NIE Number and need your Spanish Residency get in touch today! Read more about NIE Numbers in Spain